The voice from the childhood

In my search for the perfect Yoga experience I have stumbled upon a Yoga Class that teaches Dharma.

I was a bit late. I hate when I am late, but it happens sometimes. The class has already started. In a rather small room there was only one place left for a Yoga mat. My place? It was in the front row, near the wall. BTW, I never choose front row if I can stay in the last!?!

The teacher sounded strange, a foreigner with a kind of an unusual accent. She was very pleasant, but still this intonation was a bit irritating.

There is a great number of poses, and I am still learning their names and meanings. So far, I found an astonishing number 1350?!? (Is it possible?)

6913857_orig

Example photo source: atmananda

In an hour of this class we have done several poses. It started (when I came) I think they started the Sun SalutationsIntense Stretch Pose (Uttanasana), Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana), Hero Poses: Parampara 2, 5 and 6 and Upward Facing Dog (Urdhva Mukha Svanasana). We were constantly returning to this Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana).

The real challenge started with Plough Poses (Halasana 1, 2 and 3) and Ear Pressure Pose (Karna Pidasana). Then came Mandalasana Parampara 1, 2, 3. These poses were supposed to end in a form of „spider“ or Bound Wheel Pose (Charka Bandhasana 2) that unfortunately I was not able to do. Still I learned how to do Circle Pose Mandalasana Parampara 9 and I think I will never forget it :).

The greatest challenge were of course Headstand posesShirhasana. Preparation was not a problem, but when I had to raise my legs I was afraid that my neck would break. Then I noticed that I could do it if I go closer to the wall. And yes, I easily made Shirshasana 6, Headstand Pose. Wow. This is like I heard the voice from the childhood 🙂 I went down and looked around the room and then I noticed the sign: „Do not use the walls for Headstand Pose“. Upss, is it coincidence that I saw it after I already did it, or?

The challenge finished with Shoulder stand Pose (sarvangasana 1 or 2) and with a short meditational relaxation that ended with an interesting sound that I didn’t recognize.

General feeling?

Against: Well, it was comfortable, but there were simply too many souls in the room. I didn’t like the feeling of seeing other mans legs directly in front of my nose. I also missed a bit of more personal correction of the poses. I have a history of „back problems“, so it is important to do this kind of exercises correctly. It is also important to do it with correct breathing, isn’t it? Therefore, the group has to be smaller.

For: However, I like this faint sound of music that was present all the time in the room, and I liked this sound that I didn’t recognize at the end of the class and this short relaxation at the end. I also like general feeling of being happy and the instruction: “If you feel pain, just breath in this place”!! – this is a “keeper”…

Ok, there is something good in this Yoga, but so if I had to choose between this version of Dharma Yoga and the Hot Yoga that I tried last week, Hot Yoga would win.

If we search Wikipedia, Dharma is a Sanskrit word that signifies a key concept with multiple meanings in the Indian Religions – Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, Jainism – and in each religion it has another meaning….

Facit: I must continue my quest…. for the perfect Yoga Place and for the meaning of the Yoga…

In the meantime… Penchant for Practice:

81fuaeia4jl-_sl1500_

Save

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

