Fitness of the body and mind

Hatha (Hatha Vidya) comes from the words HA (Sun) and THA (moon) – the two forces: the active and masculine force of the sun and the receptive and feminine energy of the moon. They join together to purify the body and make it fit for meditation by concentration on he postures.

Vinyasa Yoga (Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga) – focused on a dynamic concentrating postures originated in Yoga Korunta (ancient manuscript compiled by a sage). It links the movement of the six postures (asanas) each flowing into the other and is accompanied by Ujjayi breathing. It is a higher form of Hatha, faster. (Source: blog).

sun-salutation

Source of the Surya Namaskara image: Pinterest.

I had a rather hectic day and I was not sure that I would arrive on time. I knew that I have to be there at least fifteen minutes before, so I really thought I would not succeed to be on time. However, the destiny allowed the abundance of yoga this week, this lush scent of sounds, smell, feelings and relaxation. I had a really positive first impression 🙂 The room was very cosy and I immediately felt gentile sandalwood smell and heard faint sound of relaxation. There were eight of us and a teacher. Not too crowded and I got my last row in which I feel comfortable. I also had my mat, so I felt secure and clean. It started on time.

Firstly, we focused on breath and breathing. We did some kind of quarters (breath in for four seconds, hold the breath for four seconds, breath out for four seconds and hold on for the last four seconds) several times and then came this funny dog-like fast breathing that was supposed to warm up the body. I think I even noticed this change in the temperature, or?

Then we started a series of exercises. They were exactly what I was able to do today, not to hard and not to easy. Ok. I admit, there were several of them that I could not do because I was too rigid and not relaxed enough. I cannot remember all the poses, but we did this Cobra pose (Bhujangasana)  and Dog pose, then we did Sun salutation – SURYA NAMASKAR ASANA several times. Well, we didnt face the rising sun because it was late in the night, but this movement was getting easier with each new round. We focused on the breathing: inhale to extend, and exhale to bend. I like it. I think this will become my morning routine for now – so again, I have another “keeper”.

From other poses I remember the

  • Mountain Pose
  • Plank Pose
  • Tree pose – Tadasana
  • Standing Forward Bend
  • Warrior 1 and 2 Poses
  • Bridge Pose
  • Downward Facing Dog Pose
  • Standing Bow Pulling Pose – Natarajasana Pose – interesting 😉
  • Triangle Pose
  • Halsana and Karnapitasana
  • Matsyasana
  • Headstand pose… well not me yet
  • Supported shoulder stand – Salamba Sarvangasana
  • And it ended in Corpse Pose – Savasana

Actually, I asked the teacher to watch me trying to do the headstand pose… to feel secure. I kind of a made a part of it (my legs were in the air but not stretched). Nice experience.

What is Yoga and How to do Yoga.Types of Yoga-.jpg

Source of the image:blogspot.

Facit: 8-9 out of 10.

For: the room, the teacher, the smell, the music and the sentence: “Your mind is like the sea, if it is calm you can see what is down there in the deep big blue bottom. But, if it is stormy (like our thoughts can be sometimes) we cannot see inside, we cannot hear our soul” (another ‘keeper’ 🙂

Against: a degree or two of temperature would be benefitcal for my cold bones, timetable….it is late… so it means that I am not able to come home before ten o’clock.

Still, I must not stop… I must test other places… since this is the only way to be able to decide what the best is.

Source of the featured image: globalyogaacademy.com.

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

