Philosopher’s Stone

261px-Squaredcircle.svg

 

The philosopher’s stone, or stone of the philosophers (Latin: lapis philosophorum) is a legendary alchemical substance capable of turning base metals such as mercury into gold (chrysopoeia, from the Greek χρυσός khrusos, “gold,” and ποιεῖν poiēin, “to make”) or silver. It is also able to extend one’s life and called the elixir of life, useful for rejuvenation and for achieving immortality; for many centuries, it was the most sought-after goal in alchemy. The philosopher’s stone was the central symbol of the mystical terminology of alchemy, symbolizing perfection at its finest, enlightenment, and heavenly bliss. Efforts to discover the philosopher’s stone were known as the Magnum Opus (“Great Work”). Source: wikipedia.

Source of Featured Image: evolveconsciousness.org.

Elixir… my first thought was Elixir vitae (the Philosopher’s Stone) – a substance alchemists attempted to make in order to restore youth, prolong life and turn metals into gold. The question is… can it be real?

 

Anty was a man that I knew in my childhood. He was some ten years older than I was when I get to know him. My first impression was that he knows a lot and has this happy welcome and understanding with all of us. I never knew why he is spending time with us. Was he coming because of my friend or he thought we all have fun together? For us in twenties we considered him as an “old prank” that is spending time with much younger girls and always had to reach out his hand and touch the person while he said hello. We would all shudder from this touch with disgust. Nevertheless, he did it over and over again.

However, I must point out that there was nothing sexual in this hanging outs. We talked about music, about philosophy, about life and death, about love, about meaning of life, about astral projection and meditation. I don’t know why I thought that he could tell me something important, or that I need to learn something from him.

At the same time, I was deeply in love with an iconic figure in our neighbourhood. When Tina singed “Simply the best”… I knew this song is about him. I was able to recognize his voice and silhouette from distance. I trained myself to sense his soul, his laughter… waiting only for one eye-to-eye contact.

I was too young to understand and know… – said Jolie

You were not supposed to know that then. You were supposed only to know that you are different.

Well, I knew that – said Jolie. And it was painful. Imagine how I felt by seeing other friends falling in love, having fun and going out, while I was just standing aside looking at all of this?

I felt like I have a second role in some famous movie. Having a second role in my own life? Unbelievable.

Now, when you know that you are not from here, how does it look like to you? What would you change?

I should have known it earlier. I wouldn’t have “normal plans” for happy family, caring partner and a dog – replied Jolie with a small-unseen tear in her left eye.

You can still have a dog – he replied smiling.

You didn’t finish the story about Anty. Why did you start talking about him?

 Ah yes, Jolie smiled… If knew then that some people are different in this was (like you) and me I would probably think that maybe he is also one of us. Then I thought he was strange. I didn’t use the words as “mentally ill” like others because he was a rather clever guy with a huge amount of great ideas. He also had stupid ideas… – Jolie laughed.

Do you know that he never did teeth cleaning?

He thought it is not natural to use brush and chemicals. Can you imagine the amount of plaque and the odour from this mouth?

She laughed and shuddered.

You didn’t have to train yourself to sense he is coming – he laughed.

Well, one idea was different. He said that he is searching for Elixir. I am not sure that I understood what kind of Elixir he is looking for. Elixir as a solution or a way of life. But he thought that there is a way to find that Elixir that would maintain life indefinitely.

Maybe he talked about the underlying principle. – He asked

No – Jolie replied with raised voice.

He talked about philosophers’ stone.

And did he find it?

I don’t know. I haven’t seen him for a while and didn’t talk with him for centuries.

Nevertheless, isn’t it interesting to know that there are people around us searching for it?

Well, I saw him some five years ago. He seemed unchanged. He didn’t even have gray hair and I didn’t notice any sign of getting old. Maybe he did find something. – She smiled with a curious look in her eyes….

More about Philosophical stone and how to create it is described here:

The Great Philosophers’ Stone Myth.

There is a very ancient writing known as The Emerald Tablet, also known as Tabula Smaragdina or The Secret of Hermes, which many believe includes a formula for producing the philosopher’s stone. Translating the formula into English only produces a maze of unexplained riddles, however. 

For the contemporary meta-physicians who wish to try, we offer the formula as follows:

  • 1.    Solutio or liquefaction, the “dissolution” or “liquidation” of the material prima.
  • 2.    Putrefacto, also nigredo, a “blackening” or a descent into the nether sphere in which the material becomes black or putrid. This stage is symbolized by the raven and by the burial of a dead body in the earth.
  • 3.    Albedo or “lightening” the putrid or blackened substance is made white or pure once again, symbolized by the transition of the raven into a white dove.
  • 4.    Citrinitatio or “yellowing.” The material must be re-enriched by “philosophical milk” or lacta philosophica, the completion of which is indicated by the assumption of a yellow color, symbolized as cauda pavonis or peacock’s tail.
  • 5.    Destillatio, also rubedo or “reddening,” symbolized by a red dragon.
  • 6.    Coagulatio or fixation, a coagulation or solidification of the material.
  • 7.    Tinctura, the completion of the lapis.

Have fun 🙂

philosopher-stone

Source of the image: web.

 

Leave a Reply

